Phoenotopia 100% – New speedrunning guide in the works! (Whimsical Weekend #2)

Well, it’s Labor Day where I live, and that’s part of Labor Day Weekend, which is still a weekend…right?

For this weekend, I was considering doing a step-by-step guide to this week’s Cross-a-Pix puzzle on Conceptis, but then I figured that it would be legally wrong considering the puzzle is only free for a week.

So, instead, I felt like it would be better to discuss something else that I’ve been up to, and the first thing that came to mind is my progress towards making a new and improved guide to Phoenotopia 100% speedrunning. The reason for this is because I do plan on improving my 100% time, and although I don’t have quite as much time as I used to because of work, I am gradually working towards getting a satisfactory time so that I can be done with the main categories and move on to miscellaneous categories and/or Diamond Hollow II.

But again, it takes time, and I feel a bit guilty that I was unable to write up a detailed guide for the May 2016 route…and besides that, the first detailed guide that I’ve written on 100% is quite lazy because it frequently refers to the any% route…but then the following thought occurred to me: “What if somebody wants to run 100% but not any%?” I mean, the fact that my 100% runs get more than three times as much viewership (on YouTube) as my any% runs is the main contributing factor. Going deeper, when I did my first 100% run, I thought that it was a long category…but then I thought about games that take longer to complete any%, such as Super Mario Galaxy and modern-day Pokémon games. Duration aside, any% is a very risky run, considering you go through the entire game with no extra collectibles besides the Iron Hammer and one moonstone, and it is rather long for an any% run of a Flash game. (It takes around an hour ideally, and my current record is 51:53.) 100%, on the other hand, isn’t that much longer (around 2 hours; current record is 1:48:16) and is much safer because of all the Heart Rubies and useful tools collected (although most of the tools aren’t obtained until the backtracking part of the run), so I feel like it would be a more enticing category for potential newcomers. Unfortunately, some of the secrets in the game are very well hidden, which…well, gives all the more incentive to writing a detailed guide, right?

Ranting aside, I have currently written up to Ancient’s Crater 1, which means based on run time alone that I am about 60% finished. Here is a preview:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1HZdCr4GKqkZZ1eOOYQHrqs4gO7gTCUGUkxyGdEPplQE/edit?usp=sharing

(Regarding the subtitle, I go by EchecCritiqueMisc on YouTube and SirCritique on Reddit. Also, there is not yet a Loot Duping Index, but when I do get around to making one, the content will be copied+pasted from my Loot Duping Guide.)

Along with the guide itself, I’ve thought of some minor improvements to the technique and route:

  • I decided to move the cracked pot moonstone on the second-rightmost screen of Dread Lands to the backtrack instead of the first visit, because with the Morning Star and Nebula Armlet, it is much easier to defeat the broken golem guarding the pot.
  • Bits of new tech in Prince Tower:
    • It occurred to me accidentally that you can actually stand on one of the chandeliers on the first floor, like this:
      Screen Shot 2016-09-05 at 7.27.45 PM
      While it requires a precise Javelin throw, it makes for a respectably faster climb.
    • I found a new way to complete the box puzzle in the second tower, which saves about 30 seconds:

It’s not much, but it’s something, and definitely enough at this point to inspire me to get a better time in 100% (but not before fully completing the guide, of course). I’m hoping for a time that’s equivalent to twice my any% time in some way, i.e. 1h 48m in-game time or 1:43:46 real time. The latter is kind of ambitious, though, considering the best in-game time I’ve managed to achieve in a segmented rehearsal run is 1h 46m in-game time, and in-game time ranges from 2-3 minutes longer than real time for some odd reason, therefore it would be reasonable to estimate 1:44 real time. Then again, that was before I thought of the new tech for Prince Tower and the rerouting of that one moonstone in Dread Lands, so…you never know.

So, that’s enough for now. I will strive to get this new PB soon while also keeping up with real-life matters and trying to maintain my sanity.

 

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

