Potpourri feat. winter 2016 anime (Thought Dump Thursday 1/21/16)

The thing about Thought Dump Thursdays is that sometimes they may be focused on one topic, but other times (like now) they may just be in the classic potpourri style of the former Thought Dump series, wherein I just say what I’m thinking, not caring how many different topics I bring up within the post in question. However, from now on, I decided with such potpourri posts that I would include the main topic of focus—i.e., the topic which I discuss first—as the defining feature of the part of the title outside of the parentheses. This is partly to make the end part of the URL unique and partly so that the posts are less likely to be overlooked.

So, first off: I tend to limit myself in the anime that I watch (especially now that I’ve reached my last semester of college) to series that really interest me. So far, of the anime that have started airing this season, three have successfully grabbed my attention:

Musaigen no Phantom World

I owe my interest in this anime to a tweet by Dutch speedrunner CriticalCyd. From what I’ve seen (i.e., the first three episodes), it’s about people being able to see illusions, including illusionary beings known as Phantoms, and put to rest the Phantoms that cause mischief. In terms of main characters, we have: Haruhiko Ichijou, a dark-haired dude who excels at dropping trivia and carries a sketchbook for sealing and summoning; Ruru, a fairy-like Phantom who accompanies Haruhiko much like Navi; Mai Kawakami, a blonde and busty chick who excels at martial arts; and Reina Izumi, a black-haired girl who has…quite an appetite, to say the least. I don’t have much to say about this one…yet, although the lore is pretty interesting, and I am eager to see more out of the other students who have had various minor appearances (i.e., Koito Minase and that one loli with the teddy bear).

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! (KonoSuba)

I’ve been awaiting this anime ever since 2015 when it was announced. Before then, I was already familiar with the manga and had read the first four chapters, and it is certainly great stuff. It’s centered around the shut-in Kazuma Satou who ends up dying a ridiculous death and is invited by the “goddess” Aqua to an RPG-like world to which he is allowed to take any one thing…and he chooses Aqua. So, this fledgeling shut-in and demoted goddess are stuck in the world to make a living and get stronger in hopes of defeating the demon king. On the way, they meet the explosion-obsessed chuunibyou arch wizard Megumin and the masochistic blonde crusader known as Darkness. As a whole, all I can say is that the anime defied some of the expectations I had while reading the manga: Aqua’s hair seems brighter and her skirt a whole lot more see-through, Megumin has a more emotional voice than I expected, and Kazuma is portrayed to be seemingly more useful than the manga made him seem. Still, I’m looking forward to how it will unfold, for better or for worse.

Dagashi Kashi

I have no idea what force of nature compelled me to watch this anime…and read up to chapter 38 in the manga…but I am liking it so far. It’s about an aspiring mangaka, Kokonotsu Shikada, whose father, You Shikada, is the owner of an urban shop that sells cheap snacks (known as dagashi) and wishes for Kokonotsu to succeed the shop, even if he doesn’t want to. Suddenly, he meets the dreamy but eccentric lavender-haired Hotaru Shidare, who makes a deal with You that he will help the Shidare family with their dagashi-selling business if she convinces Kokonotsu to succeed the Shikada shop. Even though Hotaru (and Kokonotsu, whether he likes it or not) is enthusiastic to a fault about dagashi, Kokonotsu refuses the offer through and through, making for a lasting, comedic, and somewhat educational relationship between the two, with some moments shared with Kokonotsu’s friends Tou and Saya Endou. Good stuff.

The rest of the potpourri

Phoenotopia

First of all:

New any% PB! (Please read the following Pastebin—http://pastebin.com/GHcvwBFs—before watching.) 55:14 RTA, which is a 4-minute time save over my previous run! I did say before that sub 1 hour in-game time was possible, and I managed to cut the in-game timer down to 58 minutes! I also said before that “sub 56 [RTA] would be an ideal time for this category,” but I feel even at 55:14 that there is still plenty of room for improvement. I’m honestly surprised that I ended up saving time on the Dread Lands / Mul Cavern split, seeing how I lost about 18 seconds by clumsily falling at the very end. I also lost another 18 seconds (maybe more) by failing Golem Skip, and the early game was rather shaky as a whole. So, I’m thinking low 54 RTA (so 56 or 57 in-game time) would be an ideal goal time.

I should also add that this is my first (and possibly last) run completed on the French version. I decided to try it out, just out of curiosity, but I went back and timed it in comparison to the original English, and it wastes about 4 seconds in text boxes.

Second, about 100%…I’ll probably start up another playthrough just to experiment with some things (and get screenshots of potential split icons) because, now that I think about it, I’m kinda confused on Moonstone #42 on the Scribd guide (the moonstone that you get from Floe in Cross Roads). Like, according to the guide, you have to exterminate the slimes, talk to Gill at Great Walls, and then talk to Floe for the moonstone, and that’s how it’s currently routed out. However, to have to go through that much seems a little suspicious to me. Is it really necessary to talk to Gill? Heck, is it even necessary to exterminate the slimes? (I’m thinking “yes” to the latter question, just because it makes more sense that way, although I’m not so sure about the former.) Other than that, I don’t know about changing the route; the only trick in the route for which a stamina boost is absolutely necessary is Harpy Skip, which saves having to put up with an RNG-heavy fight in Ancient’s Crater that would otherwise probably take forever (but most likely not as long as in any% because you would have more HP in 100%). As for everything else, it’s just minor time loss…and besides, stamina-boosting items are not just available at Honey Labs Inn; there’s also the Honeyed Tumonds at Bandits’ Lair and Dread Lands, as well as the Jar of Honey in the Dread Lands save room and the E-Soda in Ancient’s Crater. So, that adds up to 6 minutes of stamina boosts.

Anyway, that’s what’s on the table whenever I get back to it.

Freemium 3DS games

Pokémon Shuffle came out with a whopping 40 normal stages (261-300) in one update. To put that into perspective, that’s literally two-thirds of Roseus Center, which has the most stages of any location in the game, and, heck, even just the number of released stages exceeds the number of stages in any previous location. That’s really something. Another thing about this update: I started out at 99999 coins, spent 15500 on Zekrom (I defeated it without items, but given that I did so on the last move, I obviously failed to catch it at that time), and pretty much all of the rest went into Great Balls, which allowed me to catch everything up to Palpitoad (if only the RNG could have been more cooperative) and a few others with luck. Also, get this: I spent 13300 coins (for Moves +5, Mega Start, Complexity -1, and Disruption Delay) on Mega Rayquaza and still fell short of S-ranking it (had 8 moves remaining). I don’t know if it had something to do with my team; I had Mega Latios, Goodra, Dragonite, and Rayquaza (8/8/7/6)…but hey, now that I have Mega Ray, I can give it a taste of its own medicine next time! (What I have in mind is a team of Mega Ray, Xerneas, Diancie, and…er…Articuno.) Anyway, that’s what’s on the table for Pokémon Shuffle, along with having to S-rank 30 more stages and later take care of the EX stages, so…I guess I’ll just Meowth grind a bunch and get back in the fray when I feel ready.

Next: Pokémon Picross. For a cheapskate like me who refuses to pay for freemium games, progress is quite slow on that game. It really is just like Rumble World in terms of its currency system: get a bunch of Picrites (Picross’s equivalent of Diamonds), unlock the next zone, clear that zone, rinse and repeat. I may have once said that progress is slower in Picross than Rumble World, but now that I think about it, they are about the same; if not, Rumble World may be the slower one because the number of Diamonds you get from Rumble World in the daily events external to missions is entirely RNG-dependent, whereas how many Picrites you get in the Daily Challenge depends mostly on execution and somewhat on RNG. Being on Area 09 and having reached level 10 of the Daily Challenge (which wasn’t too hard due to the prior experience I’ve had with Conceptis’s Pic-a-Pix), I get a daily yield of 11 (or 9 if I get sloppy), which isn’t too shabby. What annoys me, though, is that not a single Pokémon prior to Area 12 is Rock- or Ground-type. Like, really, why the heck is that, especially considering some of the challenges prior to that area have objectives requiring Slash Reveal?

As for Badge Arcade and Rumble World, I don’t have much to say about those. Badge Arcade…doesn’t leave much room for explanation, although I’m going to come out and say that I wish I had a swimsuit Nikki badge. In Rumble World, I’m really close to unlocking the 160-Diamond balloon, whatever that is (I can’t be bothered to look it up), and there’s still the 200-Diamond balloon waiting in the wings.

 

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

