Top Three Thursday 11/26/15: Things I’m thankful for

Top Three Thursday is always when I have the most difficulty thinking of a topic (and having a research paper due tomorrow afternoon doesn’t help), but since today is Thanksgiving for those who celebrate it, I figured I would celebrate the occasion in the most obvious way possible. (This may be a little rushed, but it is sincere.)

3. Education

Not something I (or anyone else) can take for granted. If not for education, I would be significantly dumber than I am now. I wouldn’t know how to read or write, how to speak, how to solve math problems (with or without a calculator), how to interpret world phenomena, how to communicate in French as well as English, or how to use computers. In fact, I feel that without education I wouldn’t even be typing this right now.

2. Technological advancement

Isn’t it great how far we’ve come in terms of technology? That’s nothing to be taken for granted either. Not just electronics like computers and television, but also the simpler things like air conditioning, light bulbs, washers, and dryers, not to mention the many forms of transportation to which we have access—cars, trains, planes, and so on. The best technological development of all, though, is the Internet, a means of people the world over to communicate amongst each other without having to do so face-to-face. It also gives me a way to reveal my thoughts to the public in blog form. Finally, the easy accessibility of mass media gives us myriad ways to entertain ourselves.

1. Family

Without family, I literally would not even be born. They raised me well, providing for me while I’m still young, having taught me all I know about moral conduct, and introducing me to the God who brought them together. In addition to that, I am thankful to be able to consult them if I have a problem beyond my control. Honestly, I wouldn’t be who I am or where I am if not for my family. In fact, they are responsible for my education and the fact that I can keep up with technological advancement.

 

Most of all, I am thankful for God, who transcends this top three list with all that He has done.

3 Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. 4 In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.
John 1:3-5

So, Happy Thanksgiving, and remember to be thankful for what has been provided (even if you don’t celebrate the holiday; it’s always good to be thankful).

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

