Spontaneous Saturday 11/7/15: My own fantasy story

Even though I have no desire to take up writing as a profession, I have a secret hobby of writing fantasy stories. It’s been a thing since…well, as long as I can remember, honestly. These stories, much like this blog, are a great outlet for me to dump my thoughts, so they mostly draw inspiration from video games, anime, or other media that I consume.

Right now, I am working on one in particular, titled Cinq du Soleil, which is a sort of pervy fantasy harem story with magical elements. I can’t guarantee it’s good, though, because I’m hard on myself because, again, I’m not a professional writer, and I’ve been single my whole life (which I feel says something about my perception of women). That said, if you wish to see my progress on this story (which you might even catch me editing), click the link below:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1eJB_L3JOYaCPpSF2iJjvZjZuPi3i5yc1ifD7N1UynVs/edit?usp=sharing

The rest of this post will explain in detail any background information surrounding the creation of this story; i.e., the untitled precursor concept (for lack of a better term) and any other inspirations and/or explanations behind my ideas.

Precursor

The precursor to this story used to be kept on a text document titled “Brainstorming lewd crud” that is no longer in my possession today, so chances are I may not remember everything about it.

Chiefly inspired by the anime Trinity Seven, the original idea involved two male protagonists and five female (making seven total). The male protagonists were Toru Koroi and Ao Mirakane (the latter of whom is now an antagonist), and the five females were about the same as they are, except Sumire’s last name was Dajira before I changed it to Miyazaki, and Yue Panishi used to be named Panishi Yuu.

Another similarity between the precursor and the original is that it involved five antagonists, granted there are some slight inconsistencies—in Ao’s place was a glasses girl (like Panishi) named Nao some-last-name-I-can’t-remember, Midori’s last name used to be Bolt, and in Dealer’s place was a similar character named Xenon (who was supposed to be female with an alter ego named Sena). Also, I was considering making the L’Ouverture character’s first name Toussaint (with a different last name, of course), but I had no idea how to write that in katakana at the time, and it didn’t occur to me back then to just check the Japanese version of the Wikipedia article of Toussaint L’Ouverture. (I like to provide Japanese writings of most of the names just because.)

Their weapons, however, were somewhat different from how they are now. The glasses worn by the likes of Toru and Panishi used to fire artillery (bullets, missiles, etc.) as opposed to their current purpose of facilitating the use of magic. In addition:

  • Aka’s sword, Picante, used to be named Taki, a random name that also serves as an inversion of Ao’s old sword name, Kita.
  • Sumire used to have a toy hammer (sort of like that of Amy Rose) named DajiPiko, which was a questionable idea in my mind.
  • Kaori’s dual arm blades, Aigu and Grave, used to be Wind and Earth, respectively, before they were converted to pure Wind in light of a radical change in lore explained later.
  • Midori’s swords had a different name, but I don’t remember what.
  • Xenon… I don’t even know if she even had a weapon.

The characters’ specials were different as well. Sumire’s was some sort of threefold attack (of which I can’t remember the name), Panishi’s was a mass firing of weapons (named Heavy Artillery in the precursor, even adapted to Open Fire in the current rendition before it was replaced with Metal Bind), and Mona’s was a love-based attack (of which I can’t remember the name) that dealt heavy damage to non-allies.

Besides that, the whole thing about elements and spells and Chief Elementals and whatnot was not in the precursor. Instead, the precursor was centered around a bunch of monsters (summoned by Neguro L’Ouverture) that were named using corrupted spellings of French animal/monster names from A to Z, and those whose names were closer to Z were more powerful.

I guess that’s all I have to say about the precursor, except that it wasn’t really a fleshed-out story, just a bunch of “Bits and Pieces,” as I like to call them.

Inspirations/Explanations

  • Again, the anime Trinity Seven is the chief inspiration of this story. During the season it was airing, I thought for some reason, “Hey, this inspires me to create my own harem story! I’ll even put seven main characters in it!” Thus, the precursor was conceptualized. (That said, if you are reading this section before or while reading Cinq du Soleil, do not expect the male lead to be much like Arata.)
  • The male protagonist duo, as it was in the precursor, was modeled after Tiz and Ringabel in the game Bravely Default.
  • Sumire’s first name and appearance (and, to some degree, her personality) are inspired by Sumire Saitou, one of my favorite characters of all time, from the manga K-On! Highschool.
  • The name Panishi is a romanization of how a Japanese person would say the English word “punish,” hence her punitive behavior at times. Her precursor name (Panishi Yuu) is supposed to sound like “punish you,” but her current name (Yue Panishi) is a bit more subtle.
  • The names Aka, Ao, and Midori are based on Japanese color names: red, blue, and green, respectively.
  • Aka’s last name (Fujiyama) meaning “Mt. Fuji” is pure coincidence, I promise. I didn’t intend anything by it; it just came off the top of my head.
  • Aka’s sword name, Picante, is Spanish for “spicy,” as a contrast to Ao’s sword name, Gelato, which is Italian for “frozen.”
  • Kaori’s last name (Delacroix) comes from that of Eugène Delacroix, which was to me (at the time) just some random name I learned about in 10th grade history. Also, my intention with her was to make her a French speaker, so I had to come up with something French.
  • Kaori herself is modeled after Claire Rouge from the anime Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance, and the male lead encounters her in a similar situation (especially so in the precursor, but Kaori’s response to the situation is slightly altered in the current rendition).
  • Kaori’s dual arm blades are supposed to resemble those seen in RWBY Volume 2 Episode 12. Their names, Aigu and Grave, are based on the French names of upward and downward accents, respectively. Moreover, Kaori’s special, Circonflex, is based on the accent that is effectively a combination of the two.
  • Mona Koroi is modeled after the titular character of the manga Cyclops Shoujo Saipuu in terms of her brocon nature and relatively large size.
  • Oda Koroi is named after Oda Nobunaga.
  • Nao, who was in the precursor but not in the current rendition, was based on the character Nao Okuda from K-On! Highschool. Thus, she was intended to be associated with Sumire.
  • Midori’s weapons, Sativa and Sativus, are named after the feminine and masculine forms (respectively) of a Latin botanical adjective meaning cultivated.
  • Neguro’s last name, L’Ouverture, comes from that of Toussaint L’Ouverture. (His dark skin is also part of this connection.) In a similar vein to Delacroix, this name is used as a random French name to signify that he is a French speaker.
  • The whole thing in the precursor about one of the antagonists (Xenon) having an alter ego (Sena) was chiefly inspired by Kili Surtr Muspelheim from the anime Juuou Mujin no Fafnir, who became a wolf in sheep’s clothing by the second half of the anime, when she was disguised as Honoka Tachikawa.
  • The name Tudi (given to the chief elemental of Water) is honestly a name for lack of a better name: a random name that vaguely sounds like “too deep.”
  • Créé is French for “created,” which is based on how the character Créé is artificial.
  • As for the title…I’ll describe it using the words of Kaori Delacroix in the story:
    “‘Cinq’ means ‘five,’ which is meant to symbolize that there are five of us girls who each use one element of the Soleil spectrum, of which there are five total. It is also a play on the term ‘Cirque du Soleil,’ which delivers the message that we can put on quite a show. … The ‘five’ part of the name only refers to me, Sumire, Yue, Aka, and Mona.”

I guess that’s it, maybe even too much. Perhaps I may have forgotten something. I will update the post if so.

 

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

