Top Three Thursday 10/15/15: Responses to failure to meet a deadline properly

3. If the assignment has a penalty, compare its gravity to the worth of a hypothetical on-time submission

This is a recent happening. I had a project due at noon today, but I put it off too long and couldn’t get any more than half of it finished, even after I tried to stay up all night working on it, so I figured, “Hmm… For programming assignments, the professor takes 20 points off for each week it’s late. Well, why turn in a half-baked submission for such a low score if I could instead give myself a week to ameliorate it and potentially get an 80? (not likely)” To be honest, though, it doesn’t really help that I’m putting a handicap on myself by refusing to use the Windows software required for the course and instead stubbornly using alternatives that work on my Mac. (I refuse to run Windows on my Mac; it’s not that I’m strictly anti-Windows, it’s just that I don’t want to use it if I don’t have to.)

2. Get a rough draft up on the deadline and polish it up afterwards

This really only applies to my blog posts here, though. As I try to keep up with this once-per-two-weeks routine, sometimes I may happen upon circumstances through which I just can’t think of a topic (writer’s block) or was constrained by the due date of one or several assignments. A recent example is my MonMusu character evaluation, of which I posted a rough draft at 11:50 pm featuring only the bit about Meroune, and I stayed up between 5 and 6 am finishing the darn thing. Thought Dump 4 I actually ended up posting at exactly 12:00 am on Sunday, May 10, where the scheduled deadline was the day before, which was (and still is) the first post where I failed to post the original on time.

1. Do what little I can in what little time I have left

It’s basically what I’m doing right now. I have done it for many assignments, including one I submitted not too long ago (and actually got a 95, which is surprising, considering I had no idea what I was doing). I have also done it on many, many, many, many, many, many, many, many, many, many, so many of my posts up to now. Again, I don’t know what I should be doing about my poor time management. I can dismiss it, saying “It’s just me,” but at the same time, time management is very important in the workforce, of which I will soon inevitably be a part. My mind is just so fickle, though, that it’s difficult to focus on any one thing. That’s the main thing I blame.

 

Short version: I find it hard to keep up with this routine and real life, but I try my darnedest to make something work whenever I’m in a pinch.

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

