Top Three Thursday 8/20/15: Favorite Japanese music

Once again, it’s 10 pm and I honestly have no particular topic of interest, so I’ll just have to use the first thing that comes to mind and is within my comfort zone.

This is sort of, but not really, a redux of the top three anime theme song list I did last year. Since I’ve suddenly gained an interest in Project Diva (Vocaloid) streams on Twitch, I decided to broaden the scope beyond just anime theme songs because otherwise I wouldn’t have much to explain beyond what I previously listed. (Maware! Setsugetsuka has become my favorite anime theme song, followed by Jinsei☆Kimiiro (Jinsei ending theme) and black bullet.) Also, like before, these are YouTube videos, so sorry if they are muted or taken down because of copyright or whatever.

 

3. “Let’s Say the P Names!” by Rin and Len Kagamine

I’ll admit: I am a sucker for upbeat music. As long it doesn’t have any flagrant cursing in it, it’ll at least capture my interest. I think the first time I became interested in Project Diva gameplay was when I happened to catch Twitch streamer DarkSpinesSonic playing an edit of the song above in an attempt to “get good” at the game. He does, in fact, have a Perfect on it, and I believe that is what piqued my interest in the song. Well, it was actually more when I started watching Cirno_TV play the game, but the aforementioned Perfect is at least partly responsible for when this song game to mind as I considered which of the songs I especially preferred.

 

2. “Maware! Setsugetsuka (回レ!雪月花)” by Hitomi Harada, Ai Kayano, and Yui Ogura

It was the start of 2014 when I started liking that song (when I first heard it, i.e. when I watched the first episode of Machine Doll to full completion, I was embarrassed by it, but that tends to happen with songs that I end up liking) and I must say that it is still awesome. black bullet has lost its luster (to me, anyway), and since I don’t feel that way about this song (and I haven’t found many other diamonds in the rough), it has become my new favorite anime theme song. It really is catchy, and that’s why I enjoy it so much. Plain and simple.

 

1. “Gothic and Loneliness” by Rin Kagamine

Seeing Cirno_TV play Project Diva edits is what got me interested in this song. The more I think about it, the more similar it seems to black bullet, mostly because of the similarity of the percussion, how appealing the vocals are, and how much it seems to reflect the essence of a battle in action. I will admit, though, the A#6 (or is it A#5? I’m bad with octaves…) at the end of the song is another factor that has me attracted to it.

 

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

