Top Three Thursday 7/23/15: SGDQ 2015 runs I am looking forward to

SGDQ (Summer Games Done Quick) 2015, the most well-known speedrunning marathon, is scheduled to begin in 3 days (which is relatively late considering last SGDQ took place near the end of June). To view the event, visit http://www.twitch.tv/gamesdonequick. To view the schedule, visit https://gamesdonequick.com/schedule.

Since I have no better idea for a topic today, I wish to talk about three runs in SGDQ that I will be most likely be viewing if circumstances allow.

 

3. The Legend of Zelda (swordless) by jkoper

Honestly, it was hard to choose third because there are only two runs I recognize right off the bat, but I noticed this little gem on the schedule:

I have to say, the comment alone has me interested. Great reference to the game in question and, while I’ve never actually seen the run before, I’m excited to see how it unfolds.

 

2. Metroid Prime Hunters (All Items) by Mr_Shasta

Metroid Prime Hunters is the first (and second-to-only) Metroid Prime game I’ve ever played (and I wrote an article about it way back when), so naturally I’m anticipating an All Items run from the one and only world record holder Mr_Shasta.

For clarification, the definition of the All Items category is: “Collect all weapons (including the Omega Cannon), UA expansions, missile expansions, and energy tanks.” It’s not called 100% because getting 100% in Metroid Prime Hunters requires all scans, a vast majority of which are not a part of All Items.

 

1. Donkey Kong 64 (No Levels Early) by 2dos

I’ve mentioned before how much I like watching DK64 speedruns and hanging out at 2dos’ stream, so of course I’m excited for this run. It is scheduled at a pretty inconvenient time for my curfew (1:25 AM EDT), but hopefully it will get pushed back earlier, otherwise I might have to violate my curfew for the occasion.

 

Sorry for the terse descriptions, but that’s honestly all I have to say for now.

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

