Top Three Thursday 6/25/15: Favorite music from Nintendo 64 games

As I was born in 1994, the Nintendo 64 is one of the first video game systems I remember playing, probably at the age of 7. Alas, though, I gave up possession of the N64 when I got a Gamecube, so I hardly have any recollection of playing the games, although I at least know what games I played and some particular moments I shared with them (e.g., being scared by mutated Tootie in Banjo-Kazooie (why I’m not familiar with the series outside of Nuts and Bolts), playing hooky in 2nd grade just to play Mario Party 2, playing Kirby 64 and Donkey Kong 64 at a friend’s house, all of which are only faint memories). Still, thanks to Twitch streams, I am able to listen to some of the tunes that have been lost from my memories, and here are the three I prefer most.

 

3. Boss Challenge II (Diddy Kong Racing)

 

2. Hideout Helm (Donkey Kong 64)

Note that this video has had its pitch slightly altered to avoid being flagged for copyright infringement.

 

1. Ripple Star (Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards)

This track is also remixed in Triple Deluxe (titled Ripple Red), but I personally prefer the original.

Feedback is always appreciated!

