Top Three Thursday 6/11/15: Characters I find it hard to like but don’t dislike

Nowi Wins Once again, sorry for the lateness. I should honestly get serious about this, especially now that I only have one class worth of work to deal with.

12/13 EDIT: Fixed a few broken images.

 

In video games and anime alike, there is a vast selection of diverse characters which people have the choice to like, dislike, or dismiss without any strong opinion. Opinions vary from person to person, and that’s the crux of this topic. Sometimes there are characters I like that others dislike (e.g., Big the Cat, Birdo), and sometimes there are characters I dislike that others like (e.g., Sena Kashiwazaki, Tharja), but the characters I will talk about in this post are characters that I dismiss without any strong opinion but people seem to like. The thing about it is that I resent them for some reason but I can’t truly hate them for some other reason. What’s the basis for the list arrangement? Well, let’s just say it’s in terms of how indifferent I feel towards the character. Anyway, on with the list.

 

3. Camilla (Fire Emblem if)

Honestly, the only reason why I can’t hate this character is because she’s from an unreleased game. People seem to like her for her breasts, but that’s actually one of the reasons why I don’t like her. It’s not so much the size of them as it is a combination of the size and the degree of exposure. That is, I’m not a fan of big breasts that are exposed to the point where it’s obnoxious, and that’s just what Camilla seems to embody. Still, I don’t know her personality or her competency as a unit (if applicable) because the game is not released yet, but I have to say as of now that she is the reason why I would rather choose Hoshido than Nohr. That’s not to say that I hate her; I’m just not a fan of her…at least for the moment.

 

2. Hestia (DanMachi)

As is the case with Camilla, I’m not a fan of Hestia because of her big breasts and high-exposure outfit. Not only that, but she’s also a so-called “goddess”, which conflicts with my beliefs. Still, I can’t truly hate her because she has her voice and, to some degree, her personality going for her. She kinda reminds me of Kana Minami from Minami-ke, what with her being energetic and having twin-tails and all. Like, if I ignore the breasts and their high exposure, I can easily stand her.

 

1. Niko Yazawa (Love Live)

Going by MAL statistics, she is the second-most favorited Love Live character behind Maki (830 to 1348), but personally I find her to be my 8th favorite of the nine main characters. I mean, she’s not that bad, but…her personality can get pretty annoying at times, and that “Nico Nico Nii” catchphrase gets old fast. Besides that, she hardly stands out among the nine except that she’s one of the shortest members, if not the shortest member, despite being a senior, her voice is decent, and she’s kind of cute.

(For the record, Kotori is my least favorite because she’s definitely the most bland of the nine.)

Feedback is always appreciated!

