Spontaneous Saturday 5/23/15: Super Randomizer Nuzlocke – a follow-up?

Previous Super Randomizer Nuzlocke post (please read before viewing “HeartGold progress update”): http://wp.me/p4GI1b-3h
Link to super randomizer: http://pokehacks.dabomstew.com/randomizer/

Recently, I feel like I’ve regained interest in Pokémon Super Randomizer (for whatever reason). However, I do not feel like returning to my Black or Black 2 playthroughs because…well, in an ordinary playthrough, you can easily catch as many Pokémon as you want and pick and choose what you want to have in your party. In Nuzlockes, on the other hand, you can only catch the first Pokémon you find in a route or area, which, along with the possibility of Pokémon dying, makes things a lot more interesting.

 

HeartGold progress update

Well, I managed to beat the Elite Four first wave, but not without my share of casualties. The following three of my party Pokémon died during the Pokémon League challenge:

 MyTurn – Swampert (M)
Level: 42
Nature: Brave
Met at: Cherrygrove City (Lv.10)
Characteristic: Likes to fight.
Type: Grass/Electric
Stats: 164 HP, 108 Atk, 93 Def, 50 Sp.Atk, 88 Sp.Def, 64 Speed
Ability: Soundproof
Moves: Wood Hammer / Crabhammer / Rock Slide / ExtremeSpeed

Cause for death: It’s stupid, honestly. When I was battling Will, he had a Smeargle. Because I had already caught a Smeargle before, I knew it was part Ice, so I used Rock Slide. Now, here’s the stupid part: the Smeargle survived at extremely low HP and just so happened to have Counter. Definitely my saltiest moment during the entirety of the Elite Four.

 cirLewd – Golem (F)
Level: 43
Nature: Naughty
Met at: New Bark Town (Lv.5)
Characteristic: Good endurance.
Type: Flying
Stats: 152 HP, 102 Atk, 84 Def, 70 Sp.Atk, 79 Sp.Def, 77 Speed
Ability: Hustle
Moves: Fly / Bonemerang / Spacial Rend / Horn Drill

Cause for death: Koga had an Arbok, which just so happened to have Thunder. cirLewd was at an HP value so high that I just didn’t even care, but she got taken down easily. RIP starter.

 KAPOW – Sunflora (F)
Level: 42
Nature: Modest
Met at: Route 34 (Lv.11)
Characteristic: Proud of its power.
Type: Fighting/Flying
Stats: 151 HP, 39 Atk, 85 Def, 81 Sp.Atk, 66 Sp.Def, 69 Speed
Ability: Volt Absorb
Moves: Wring Out / Surf / Fire Blast / Softboiled

Cause for death: Died valiantly in the battle against Lance. At that point, I had only 4 Pokémon left, and I leaned on my defensive core of KAPOW and cirFairy because chrisWOW has poor defensive typing and chrisKiss has poor defenses. Anyway, the cause of death: Lance had a level 50 Tentacruel with Nasty Plot and Chatter.

 

On a saltier note, I lost three other Pokémon to…grinding. Freaking grinding. That is extremely provocative because the point of grinding is to prevent your Pokémon from dying, not line them up in death row! The three Pokémon I lost were:

 talRIPUrn – Darkrai
Level: 24
Nature: Hasty
Met at: Whirl Islands (Lv.23)
Characteristic: Impetuous and silly.
Type: Ground
Stats: 79 HP, 68 Atk, 26 Def, 89 Sp.Atk, 49 Sp.Def, 53 Speed
Ability: Static
Moves: Mud Shot / Crabhammer / Aerial Ace / Pursuit

Cause of death: Hiker Parry (on Route 45) had a Pidgeot with Selfdestruct. Like, geez, of all things.

 RuleFive – Gyarados (F) shiny
Level: 31
Nature: Lonely
Met at: Lake of Rage (Lv.30)
Characteristic: Alert to sounds.
Type: Steel/Bug
Stats: 113 HP, 84 Atk, 58 Def, 62 Sp.Atk, 58 Sp.Def, 64 Speed
Ability: Cloud Nine
Moves: DragonBreath / Fly / Strength / Double-Edge

Cause of death: Ace Trainer Jamie (on Route 26) had a Murkrow with Magma Storm. Freaking Magma Storm.

And, worst of all:

 cirFairy – Uxie
Level: 43
Nature: Careful
Met at: Route 40 (Lv.17)
Characteristic: Good endurance.
Type: Normal
Stats: 197 HP, 92 Atk, 51 Def, 63 Sp.Atk, 94 Sp.Def, 127 Speed
Ability: Poison Point
Moves: Cut / Façade / Waterfall / Assist

Cause of death: Get this: a wild level 23 Dialga. It used Metronome to call Hail and Nasty Plot, but that’s not the worst part. It used Magma Storm…and got a crit. cirFairy was reduced to an HP value where Hail and Magma Storm would finish it off. Honestly, this left me with a level of saltiness that I had not experienced in ages. I mean, cirFairy was my bulkiest Pokémon! Now I’m stuck with chrisWOW and chrisKiss, arguably the most frail of the Pokémon League competitors, and my trainees.

 

Yep, Magma Storm is officially the bane of my existence. First FailFish (died to an Espeon), then RuleFive, and now cirFairy. I would say that this provocative turn of events has caused me to put this playthrough on indefinite hiatus, this time on a saltier note than before. I suppose I’ll also list my current party and any new boxed Pokémon I may have obtained.

Current Party:

 DansGame – Exeggutor (F)
Level: 23
Nature: Hasty
Met at: Olivine City (Lv.10)
Characteristic: Somewhat vain.
Type: Fire
Stats: 100 HP, 63 Atk, 63 Def, 18 Sp.Atk, 50 Sp.Def, 20 Speed
Ability: Immunity
Moves: Rock Slide / Strength / Ice Shard / Skill Swap

 dssAmeh – Monferno (F)
Level: 23
Nature: Modest
Met at: Burned Tower (Lv.14)
Characteristic: Proud of its power.
Type: Steel
Stats: 62 HP, 15 Atk, 53 Def, 72 Sp.Atk, 37 Sp.Def, 31 Speed
Ability: Mold Breaker
Moves: Surf / Focus Blast / Earthquake / Draco Meteor

 OpieOP – Ludicolo (F)
Level: 24
Nature: Lonely
Met at: Route 48 (Lv.24)
Characteristic: Often dozes off.
Type: Fighting
Stats: 68 HP, 60 Atk, 28 Def, 19 Sp.Atk, 80 Sp.Def, 58 Speed
Ability: Cloud Nine
Moves: Waterfall / Fly / Razor Leaf / Tickle

 Shazam – Manectric (M)
Level: 35
Nature: Docile
Met at: Vermilion City (Lv.35)
Characteristic: Strong willed.
Type: Psychic/Dark
Stats: 111 HP, 106 Atk, 61 Def, 75 Sp.Atk, 60 Sp.Def, 28 Speed
Ability: Super Luck
Moves: Sludge Bomb / Ember / Fly / Cut

 chrisKiss – Cresselia (F)
Level: 43
Nature: Modest
Met at: Route 39 (Lv.16)
Characteristic: Loves to eat.
Type: Poison
Stats: 144 HP, 35 Atk, 59 Def, 213 Sp.Atk, 49 Sp.Def, 157 Speed
Ability: Frisk
Moves: Surf / Trump Card / Rock Smash / Whirlpool

 chrisWOW – Ariados (M)
Level: 44
Nature: Quirky
Met at: Dark Cave (Lv.2)
Characteristic: Likes to fight.
Type: Ice
Stats: 157 HP, 49 Atk, 80 Def, 93 Sp.Atk, 42 Sp.Def, 57 Speed
Ability: Pure Power
Moves: Wake-up Slap / Shadow Claw / Earthquake / Heat Wave

Newly Boxed:

 muhBoopies – Pachirisu (F)
Level: 30
Nature: Rash
Met at: Route 26 (Lv.30)
Characteristic: Very finicky.
Type: Fighting
Stats: 62 HP, 56 Atk, 74 Def, 59 Sp.Atk, 39 Sp.Def, 37 Speed
Ability: Poison Heal
Moves: Hypnosis / Focus Punch / Sucker Punch / Icicle Spear

 FRZ – Sealeo (M)
Level: 33
Nature: Adamant
Met at: Victory Road (Lv.33)
Characteristic: Likes to run.
Type: Electric/Ice
Stats: 93 HP, 35 Atk, 48 Def, 66 Sp.Atk, 43 Sp.Def, 72 Speed
Ability: Oblivious
Moves: Air Cutter / Switcheroo / FeatherDance / Screech

 

Pokémon Black 2: A new adventure!

I know it’s odd to start a new Nuzlocke while already in the middle of one, but bear with me here. Salty over the loss of cirFairy in my HeartGold Nuzlocke, I decided to start another Nuzlocke, this time for Black 2. I thought, you know, it would be a safer ride with the presence of reusable TMs. Unfortunately, I suppose I was wrong because, as of the second gym (where I am now), there are only 5 areas in which to obtain new Pokémon. Now, get this: two of them died (contrary to my expectation, my starter was the first to die), and one of them I killed in the wild. That said, I realize the “safeness” of a randomizer Nuzlocke depends entirely on luck, and I must have been really lucky in my HeartGold Nuzlocke. Finally, I confess that I had to redo the randomizer once because the first starter I got had Defeatist, and that is one thing I will not tolerate: a starter with Defeatist. Please understand.

Anyway, before I ramble any further, here are the rules I used for the Black 2 Nuzlocke (the listed sub-items are selected; everything else is left unselected): http://pastebin.com/vTbNu79P

Now, here are the Pokémon I caught (named after anime characters):

Current Party

Izayoi – Ekans (M) [Anime: Problem Children]
Level: 18
Nature: Gentle
Met at: Route 20 (Lv.4)
Characteristic: Quick to flee.
Type: Electric
Stats: 49 HP, 14 Atk, 53 Def, 21 Sp.Atk, 22 Sp.Def, 17 Speed
Ability: Speed Boost
Moves: Thunderpunch / Icicle Spear / Relic Song / Leech Seed

Rabi – Houndour (M) [Anime: Unbreakable Machine Doll]
Level: 18
Nature: Quiet
Met at: Virbank Complex (Lv.11)
Characteristic: Highly curious.
Type: Dark
Stats: 55 HP, 27 Atk, 31 Def, 30 Sp.Atk, 27 Sp.Def, 11 Speed
Ability: Sand Force
Moves: Brick Break / Mist Ball / Cut / Recycle

Dead

Jiggler – Whismur (M) [Anime: Bobobo-bo Bo-bobo]
Level: 11
Nature: Naïve
Met at: Aspertia City (Lv.5)
Characteristic: Capable of taking hits.
Type: Steel
Stats: 35 HP, 19 Atk, 14 Def, 11 Sp.Atk, 9 Sp.Def, 19 Speed
Ability: Bad Dreams
Moves: Signal Beam / Return / Twister / Wild Charge

Cause of death: Youngster Kenny (in Floccesy Ranch) had a Carnivine with Work Up and Searing Shot. It broke through confusion twice and lived on ridiculously low HP, delivering a swift OHKO to Jiggler.

Saki – Mareep (F) [Anime: Acchi Kocchi]
Level: 12
Nature: Modest
Met at: Route 19 (Lv.3)
Characteristic: Proud of its power.
Type: Rock
Stats: 34 HP, 20 Atk, 25 Def, 15 Sp.Atk, 17 Sp.Def, 10 Speed
Ability: Unaware
Moves: Icicle Spear / ExtremeSpeed / Kinesis / Protect

Cause of death: Hiker Jerome (Route 20) had a Hariyama with Hydro Pump. Needless to say, it was an OHKO, not to mention Hariyama outsped.

 

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!) Yet…perhaps, for my Nuzlockes, there will be no “next time.”

Feedback is always appreciated!

