Top Three Thursday 4/30/15: Favorite Christian music

Okay, I know this blog is chiefly secular (and I’ve actually been exposed to some pretty crude stuff), but I’m going to come out and say that I am a believer in Christ or, as the world would interpret it, a Christian. Now, I don’t claim to be a true Christian, like a follower or a disciple of God, simply because I am young (20) and still have spiritual growth to undergo. Still, I grew up in a Christian family, and the time I’ve spent in church, in my campus’s Baptist Collegiate Ministry, and listening to K-Love on the radio has convinced me that there is at least some basis behind my faith. The radio part is especially important; music is a good way for followers to remember the teachings of God and to expose them to others, not to mention Christian music is the only type of music I can truly appreciate for its lyrics. Although it is difficult to choose three particular songs that I like the most, they would be:

 

3. Virtuoso – David Phelps

I didn’t actually hear this song on K-Love, but I know it from way back when. This could be considered the song to define all songs; after all, it is because God “breathed the breath of Heaven” that we can even produce music and use it as a medium to sing His praises. As a matter of fact, the song uses music as a metaphor, comparing it to life itself, hence the lines, “Life is a symphony that only You can play”, “There isn’t a note of mediocrity in all of Your creation”, “This heart is Your instrument, and this life is Your song”, and this entire stanza (2:34 – 3:01 in the video):

A timeless melody
Of beauty and emotion
Perfect harmony
Inspiring true devotion
No one else can play its chords
So graceful yet so strong
You made the instrument
And wrote the song

So, in a nutshell, the song describes God as a virtuoso, hence the title. Not to mention it’s upbeat (especially for a Christian song) and pretty catchy.

 

2. He Knows My Name – Francesca Battistelli

This song is a positive reminder that, even if we mean nothing to the world, we are special to God. I wouldn’t like this song nearly as much if not for the lyrics, but they’re definitely powerful lyrics. I find the “I am loved” part especially touching, so much so that it almost brings tears to my eyes. And really, through all the noise of the song, those three words are the most important part. The song is also a reminder of Matthew 6:1, in which Jesus says: “Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.” Moreover, all throughout Matthew 6, He repeats about the people who desire to be seen by men: “I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full.” Yes, the approval of man is insignificant; the approval of God is all that matters. It is true that being noticed by others is an honor (especially all those views on my Cross-a-Pix article…where did those come from?), but listening to this song makes me realize that striving solely for positive feedback is wrong.

We are not made as consumers, but as a light unto the world. This truth may be hard to swallow (speaking personally here), but it is God’s Word (Matthew 5:14-16). Even if we look foolish to the world, God approves of those who persuade others to praise Him.

 

1. The Proof of Your Love – for KING & COUNTRY

As I first perceived it, this song is a blunt reminder that everything we do, good or bad, is meaningless without love. Although love in worldly terms is simply seen as an affection, the type of love described here is more than that; it is explicitly stated in the chorus: “Love is sacrifice.” We all know John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” He made the ultimate sacrifice. He lived a perfect life, died a death that we deserve, and rose from the dead in order to exemplify for us the ultimate love. Of course, Scripture emphasizes the importance of love in many places, but here are two that are particularly important:

34 Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. 35 One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question: 36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”
37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”
Matthew 22:34-40

1 If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.
1 Corinthians 13:1-3

The second passage is referred to, although not quoted verbatim, in the song (2:27 in the video). Furthermore, at the end of the segment comes the most important line: “No matter what I say, no matter what I believe, no matter what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.”

So, once again, the type of love they are referring to in this case is not a simple affection. It is sacrifice: giving 100% and expecting nothing in return, just as God did when he sent his Son to die on the cross. You may be thinking, “Actually, he does expect something from us, doesn’t he?” Well, it’s not so much an expectation as a call to do what we naturally ought to do when shown this great a love: to love back in the same manner, or at least something similar. If not, well…that’s the point of this song, right? We are nothing without God’s love.

 

Well, that is the sincerity of my soul, poured out through this blog post, whether you like it or not. As I mentioned, music is definitely a helpful medium, for believers and non-believers alike, to connect with God. That much is obvious by how church service commences when the band plays. For further exposure to Christian music, please visit K-Love’s online radio player at http://www.klove.com/listen/player.aspx – I believe it is worth a visit for anyone of any faith.

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

