Spontaneous Saturday 2/14/15: Thought Dump 3

Today, I decided to rename the “Idea Dump” series to “Thought Dump” because something just doesn’t seem right about “Idea Dump”—that would imply that I actually have ideas. No, these are just random thoughts compiled into a single document, inspired by a lack of any single topic to think of.

 

How about these reaction faces though (from Jinsei):

u wot m7 when I lose a streak in the Battle Maison

u wot m6 thinking back to when I lost a streak in the Battle Maison

For instance, in Pokémon Omega Ruby, I created the following Trick Room doubles team: Aromatisse, Mega Camerupt, Dusclops, and Escavalier. Further details here: http://pastebin.com/KDgk4zLt

I lost at battle 30 of Super Doubles. I remember the opposing team had three Water-types (Starmie, Walrein, and Politoed if I remember correctly) and a Beartic. I thought I was handling the opposing team pretty well, but I suppose I took it too lightly and the Politoed Belly Drummed in my face. Eviolite Dusclops can withstand a lot, but it loses more than half of its HP to a +6 burnt Politoed Waterfall in the rain. Camerupt obviously didn’t stand a chance, and I suppose I owe the failure to sending Camerupt in with Aromatisse while the latter was still alive instead of sending in Dusclops to 100% guarantee to get Trick Room up again. Also, may I note that the Beartic lived an Iron Head from Escavalier? The bulk is real, man. So, the end result of the battle was a burnt Politoed at +6 and a low HP Beartic sitting pretty in the rain and laughing at my face. What can I say? It was a bothersome experience.

Actually, what bothers me more is that my former Trick Room team (from Pokémon Y) of Musharna, Marowak, Reuniclus, and Mega Abomasnow got up to 50 first try (but lost at 51 or 52 due to a Rock Slide miss), which is pretty similar to my situation in Super Singles now that I think about it (although I feel the only reason I got to 50 in Y is because of Mega Kangaskhan).

Side note: I would like to use Discharge Mega Ampharos in Trick Room, but literally the only Ground-type that can set up Trick Room is Claydol (and Baltoy of course, but that’s what we call a non-viable NFE), and I’m really not down for breeding anything genderless, especially because I can’t be bothered to acquire a flawless Ditto by any means. (Also, there’s always Protect, but that’s not a 100% preventive method to avoiding ally damage.)

Speaking of teams of questionable successfulness, I was doing Super Multi Battle with a friend and we got to battle 30 with my Mega Lopunny and Alakazam paired with his Mega Absol and Heatran. Then, prior to battle 31, I traded over a Mega Charizard Y and Talonflame from Pokémon Y and paired them with his Mega Houndoom and Steelix (if I recall correctly). Somehow, though, we lost battle 31 and had to start from scratch. I don’t remember the exact team we faced, but it’s really odd to have gone that far with Singles-tailored Pokémon and lose it all with a team that’s actually built for Multi Battle.

2/20 EDIT: Okay, I managed to defeat the Châtelaine with the team mentioned before; I just had to change Aromatisse’s last two moveslots to Heal Pulse and Aromatherapy rather than dual screens and give Escavalier a Life Orb rather than an Occa Berry. Heal Pulse and Life Orb go together really well. I also decided midway to use Escavalier as my secondary lead instead of Mega Camerupt because it is much easier to switch Camerupt in on a Fire-type attack than it is to switch Escavalier in on a Water-type attack. A replay of my Châtelaine battle can be found using the code: QPRG-WWWW-WWXE-XX8N

 

Now, a bit of anime talk. This season, I have been watching Log Horizon season 2, Pokémon XY, Juuou Mujin no Fafnir, and Absolute Duo. My thoughts on the series so far:

  • Log Horizon season 2: Just watched episode 19. First of all, it looks like a war-like conflict has surfaced itself. Second, I’m bracing myself for more Nyanta action next time. Roe 2 is an interesting character, by the way; I would definitely like to know more about her.
  • Pokémon XY: Pokémon is Pokémon. Nothing interesting to say about it.
  • Juuou Mujin no Fafnir: In general, this anime is meh, but when I watched episode 6, I got to know one of the most likable antagonists of all time: Kili Surtr Muspelheim.
    Kili = bawse
    This woman. I thought at first (when she had her cloak on) that she was just a generic druid whose aim was to brainwash Tear Lightning (one of the protagonists) into thinking she’s a dragon. While that is a part of Kili, there’s much more to her than that. Besides having long black hair and being voiced by Marina Inoue (the voice behind Yozora from Haganai), she can control fire, create explosions with the snap of her fingers, and nullify certain projectiles with an invisible protective veil. I mean, what’s not to like? (Well, she’s an antagonist, but that’s about it.)
  • Absolute Duo: I was excited about the release of this anime because I’ve read some of the manga before. But, I’m not the type of person who easily understands what’s going on in manga, so it was mostly still a surprise for me. I don’t know what to say about it; it is an interesting concept and there isn’t really too much that bothers me about it (well, there is this one part in episode 6… http://pastebin.com/Z8HMBPJb). Like other anime of its genre, I can’t really say too much about it until it’s all said and done.

 

So, I think that’s about all the random thoughts I have to pour out.

Nowi Wins À la prochaine! (Until next time!)

Feedback is always appreciated!

