Top Three Thursday 1/8/15: Video game music

First and foremost, keep in mind that this is based on personal preference. Are we clear? Good.

3. Gym Leader Battle (Pokémon X and Y)

This is the type of music that gets me into serious mode, especially with Maison battles in Pokémon Y. It is somewhat disappointing that they replaced the X and Y music (but not the Trainers) in the transition of the Maison to ORAS. In ORAS, the best Maison track I could find is the rival battle theme, and that just doesn’t swing as well with me.

 

2. Climb Up! And Get The Last Chance! (originally from F-Zero X, also in post-Melee Smash Bros.)

One day, I was perusing My Music in Smash 4, and when I previewed this track, something in my mind stated, “Hey, I like this song.” Perhaps it was a faint memory of the part of the Subspace Emissary in which the song in question was playing. That’s the only possibility; I haven’t played any part of the F-Zero franchise outside of the Brawl masterpiece. At any rate, it is a good song that carries a hint of inspiration.

 

1. That Person’s Name Is (Bravely Default)

Never have I ever wanted to play a game until the end just because of its music…until I played Bravely Default. Seriously, the soundtrack is just amazing, no doubt about it. Some of the songs are really catchy, two of them are on my iPod, and this one in particular is nothing short of addicting. Back when I was playing through the game, I would boot it up and think, “I wonder when the next asterisk boss is; I want to hear that music again!” It’s not just a one-and-done track either; it comes up at least 6 times in the entire game, more than 30 if taking up side quests. In a nutshell, it’s catchy, addicting, and a great battle theme in general.

Feedback is always appreciated!

