Spontaneous Saturday 12/20: Thought Dump 2

Like on 10/25, it is past midnight and I have no specific topic in mind for this Spontaneous Saturday. Therefore, it’s time for another Thought Dump. This will concern minor goings-on between the 15th and now.

Anime I’ve been watching

Trinity Seven – My impressions on this anime remain largely the same; it’s another fantasy harem. However, I would like to leave a few thoughts:

  1. Lieselotte, in my mind, resembles Sena from Haganai in voice and behavior.
  2. Sora, the grimoire, has a nice voice.
  3. They’ve set the stage for the finale pretty darn well.

Also, my personal favorite moment (from episode 5): http://i.imgur.com/zjmxPWu.gif

Top three characters in ascending order: Biblia Gakuenchou (the headmaster), Arata Kasuga, Levi Kazama

Hi☆sCoool! SeHa Girls – Short episodes of girls, 3D animation, school life, video games, and bits of humor. I’ll be honest: episode 2 had me laughing the hardest I’ve laughed at any anime since Bo-bobo. Please don’t tell me that’s weird because I couldn’t care less. That is all I have to say: video games and humor are what makes the series interesting.

Top three characters in ascending order: Sega Saturn, Center-sensei, Mega Drive

Pokémon XY – Pokémon is Pokémon. People cooperate with elemental animals to make their lives easier, to become performers, or to become the strongest, the last of which is the most important plot point of the series—namely, Ash’s journey to become the strongest with unevolving Pikachu and co.

Episode 52 was pretty interesting. The ninja Sanpei made a return appearance, unconscious and floating downstream with his badly poisoned Greninja—although the one thing I question is how it became “Badly Poisoned” from a Poison Jab—which Clemont proceeded to heal. Thus began Sanpei’s trial as a ninja, through which Ash and co. decided to accompany him, although arguably more important was the evolution of Ash’s Froakie into Frogadier.

Top three characters: undecided

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann – As of now, I have watched 20 episodes of this series. I know it’s a dated anime and I probably should have finished it earlier, but hey, I’m getting there. It seems to me like the first half and second half of this anime are two different series altogether; the first half is like, “We’re being threatened by Beastmen! We must fight back!” and the second half is like, “Something apocalyptic is about to befall humanity! We must take collective action!” A few moments in particular that stuck out to me were:

  1. Kamina’s death (obviously)
  2. Simon being told before trial that he’s no better than Lordgenome, whom he was opposing during the first half of the anime
  3. Nia’s message to Simon that Rossiu’s evacuation plan would be a futile effort to avoid the coming apocalypse
  4. Yoko’s intervention

I can only imagine what will happen next.

Top three characters: undecided

Goings-on in Pokémon Omega Ruby

To form a primary team for Battle Maison singles, I bred and trained a perfect Hidden Power Fire Abra (which marks the first time I’ve deliberately bred for a Hidden Power) in Pokémon Y and transferred it, along with a physically defensive Klefki I’d already had, and a 31/31/31/xx/31/31 Japanese Lucario that I had happened upon via Wonder Trade, over to Omega Ruby. What was the Lucario for? Well, I formulated the team with Mega Lopunny in mind, so I was breeding Jolly Limber Buneary with Fake Out. With the Lucario, I was hoping to get a shiny through Masuda breeding. And, after hundreds and hundreds of eggs…

Laporeille

I managed to get the shiny, but unfortunately, after EV training it (4 HP, 252 Attack, 252 Speed), I found that its Speed IV (the only thing wrong with it) ranges from 6 to 13. Therefore, I opted against using the shiny and stuck with the regular color. So, the team I have at the moment is:


Kuro Usagi (Lopunny) (F) @ Lopunnite
Ability: Limber
EVs: 4 HP / 252 Atk / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
– Fake Out
– Return
– Drain Punch
– Substitute

Nicknamed after a character from Mondaiji-tachi (my favorite anime). I had High Jump Kick at first because I didn’t have enough BP for Drain Punch—High Jump Kick is not advisable in the place like the Battle Maison because of Murphy’s Law (mainly), Brightpowder, Double Team, Protect…things like that. I have Substitute because some Pokémon in the Maison like to rely on status (although unfortunately it doesn’t block Attract, not to mention Infiltrator is a thing). My initial record of 35 in Super Singles was broken most likely because I was playing too recklessly with Lopunny, not relying enough on the rest of my team (namely Klefki, which can switch into lots of things that Lopunny doesn’t appreciate), and not using Fake Out enough.


Get LOCKy (Klefki) (M) @ Leftovers
Ability: Prankster
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Def / 4 SpD
Bold Nature
– Foul Play
– Swagger
– Substitute
– Thunder Wave

Nicknamed after the song “Get Lucky” by Daft Punk, the fact that keys are associated with locks, and that Klefki relies on luck. Call me a jerk for using SwagPlay Klefki, but it’s the Battle Maison, so I regret nothing. This guy has carried teams on its back, and, again, it can switch into a lot of things. On battle 36 of my first run through, though, I overestimated the power of Foul Play on Medicham and underestimated the power of Life Orb Medicham High Jump Kick (which OHKOs even this 252/252+ Klefki). Perhaps I should have tried Swaggering instead?


Mira (Alakazam) (F) @ Focus Sash
Ability: Magic Guard
EVs: 4 HP / 252 SpA / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
– Psychic
– Shadow Ball
– Dazzling Gleam
– Hidden Power [Fire]

Nicknamed with the character from Trinity Seven in mind, but really for lack of a better nickname. The Smogon set suggests the use of Focus Blast, but it’s the Battle Maison. How am I going to rely on something so hax-driven like Focus Blast in the Battle Maison? So, yeah, I opted to use Dazzling Gleam instead, which is why I had to breed for Hidden Power Fire. Sadly, though, once Lopunny’s gone, Bastiodon are tough to deal with, as I’ve experienced. Side note: Before I could obtain a Focus Sash (48 BP, cannot be obtained elsewhere), I had to use a Life Orb (stolen from Absol) as a placeholder.

I will keep trying, obviously, but if I get stopped twice more, I will take a moment to re-evaluate my team and see what I can change.

 

Nowi Wins That’s all for now!

Feedback is always appreciated!

