Spontaneous Saturday 11/8: How I approach video games

I do not remember the exact date I was first exposed to video games or the first video game to which I was exposed, but I do recall having access to a Nintendo 64 and a Game Boy Color when I was young. On the 64, I remember playing Super Mario 64, various Mario Party games, Banjo-Kazooie, Super Smash Bros., Kirby 64, Donkey Kong 64, Diddy Kong Racing, Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Yoshi’s Story, and Pokémon Stadium. I hardly remember my experience with any of them (let alone Banjo-Kazooie, which scared me away when I saw mutated Tootie), but I remember being really interested in Kirby 64 due to the mechanic of combining types (to the point where I formulated in my own little fantasy world a “successor” with four type slots instead of two). Meanwhile, on the Game Boy Color, all I remember playing are Pokémon Blue and Silver (and the only thing I remember about Pokémon Blue is the game crashing). However, during the Game Boy Advance years, along with Pokémon FireRed and Emerald, I was exposed to another portable game series through MegaMan Battle Network 3 (and also played the 4th installment because the series got me interested). I also remember playing some Tony Hawk game, some Shaman King game, and some Monsters Inc. game.

Past that, the list of Gamecube, DS, Wii, Wii U, and 3DS games to which I have been exposed is too long to list. I will say, however, that I have not been limited to Nintendo games; I have played a number of Xbox and Xbox 360 games as well—Fusion Frenzy, Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 4, Jet Set Radio Future, Halo 2 and 3, the Elder Scrolls IV and V, and Trials Evolution. There are also, of course, a number of computer games that I have played, among the most notable being AdventureQuest, Runescape, and Team Fortress 2.

 

So, enough with the games that I have played; let’s move on to the question at hand: how do I approach video games? Obviously, I play them because they are fun, but do I really treat them as fun? I have said before that while some of them drive me to the point of frustration, the “If there is a mountain, I will climb it” mentality keeps me going until whatever end I may meet (refer to Spontaneous Saturday 9/27). After or during a game, I will stop at some points to experiment with mechanics or comb every corner of an area if applicable. Also, needless to say, if there is a means to 100% completion as opposed to simply beating the game, I will work as much as I see fit towards whatever the 100% completion may be. If there are any games that I do not 100% complete (e.g.: Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, Kingdom Hearts 385/2 Days, the Pokémon games), it is because the games are too difficult or tedious to 100% complete.

One other thing I must confess: there is no real rhyme or reason to the games that I play. Of course I shall continue to follow the main series Pokémon games wherever they may go, I recall having played all of the 3D Mario games (64, 64 DS, Sunshine, Galaxy 1 and 2, 3D Land, and 3D World), and I am planning on getting Smash 4 for Wii U when it comes out. However, most of the other games I have played do not seem to follow a particular pattern. Torchlight, Guitar Hero, Fire Emblem Awakening, Bravely Default, some of the Tales games (Abyss, Vesperia, Symphonia 1 and 2), Team Fortress 2, the Xbox games I mentioned, the Zero Escape games, Rhythm Heaven, Custom Robo Arena, Pokémon Conquest, Final Fantasy Tactics A2 (not A1), Mario and Luigi: Partners in Time and Bowser’s Inside Story (not Superstar Saga), The World Ends with You, Amazing Island, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: My Life as a King, MegaMan Battle Network 3-5 (not 1, 2, or 6)…they just never seem to follow any particular pattern. The way I am with video games, I am always reluctant to try new ones, but if a video game draws enough interest out of me, I will play it and enjoy it. Be that as it may, I will absolutely avoid horror games, anything centered around zombies, and anything with excessive violence that is not cartoony enough for it to be “okay.” Sadly, even though I can categorize the games that I avoid like the plague, I cannot categorize the ones that I like the most because there are so many different ones to choose from.

Long story short, I approach video games with the “If there is a mountain, I will climb it” mentality and I only play games which capture my attention in some way and to which I am not averse in any way.

One thought on “Spontaneous Saturday 11/8: How I approach video games

  1. Prof.mcstevie says:

    Sometimes diving into an experience is the only way you’d convince yourself to try it. Closing your eyes and jumping has gotten me into some games I’d never try normally.

Feedback is always appreciated!

