Spontaneous Saturday 10/11: Fall 2014 anime

Note: These analyses are written after the first episode.

 

Log Horizon 2nd Season – I really like Log Horizon; it was my favorite Fall 2013 anime and the first virtual world anime I’d ever watched (I’ve never watched Sword Art Online, and I don’t feel like getting into it because I’ve seen plenty of criticism about it). Although the pacing is slow and the anime is more talk than action, the action is pretty darn cool and some of the aspects of the virtual world are interesting to learn about (for instance, the thing about on-the-spot food versus cooked food). I also like the romance between Akatsuki (who is shy) and Shiroe (who is dense), accompanied by the intervention of Minori. The first episode of season 2 was pretty weird, though. It took me not too long to notice that the art style had changed, and the last part was inexplicable. What happened is a spoiler, so I’ll link to a pastebin to read at your own risk: http://pastebin.com/qGML8nKE

Trinity Seven – Oh, hey, another fantasy harem. We have the male lead (Arata Kasuga), who is really open about what he thinks (like Izayoi from Mondaiji-tachi or Sora from No Game No Life), and a group of seven girls known as Trinity Seven. As of the first episode, Arata only meets three: a busty tsundere (Lilith Asami), a kuudere who slightly resembles Arata’s childhood friend (Arin Kannazuki), and a ninja with a funny speech pattern (Levi Kazama). The plot is centered around the Arata’s impetus to find his childhood friend (Hijiri) after imagining a world of chaos and becoming a mage as an “option three” way out of being forced to choose a grimoire or his life. That’s all I know about the anime; no impressions yet because there has not yet been any real action.

Hi☆sCoool! SeHa Girls – This one is a bit of an odd one. I stumbled upon it because someone on MAL said it was like Choujigen Game Neptune, and I can’t say I was disappointed. The episodes are short (only around 10 minutes each), it’s a 3D animation (a nice change of pace from the normal 2D), and it involves video games. Specifically, it involves a trio of girls based on video game consoles aspiring to graduate from a school where prowess in video games is required. There’s…not much else to get from a 10-minute episode.

 

Those are the only anime series for this season that caught my fancy. I am open to other recommendations, but whether I will watch recommended anime is another matter.

Oh, and 8/10 season so far.

Feedback is always appreciated!

