Top Three Thursday 8/21: Video games I play on a regular basis

3. Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

The first time I heard of Guitar Hero (when I was young beyond my memory), I was like, “Guitar Hero? What a preposterous idea!” (Disclaimer: I don’t think I knew the meaning of the word “preposterous” back then.) A year or so later, my naïve mind was exposed to the actual nature of the game and, needless to say, I was stimulated. Even though I wasn’t good at the game (I started on Medium difficulty), after the release of Guitar Hero 3, I managed to progress slowly but surely to where I could pass everything on Expert (I even passed Through the Fire and Flames thanks to GuitarHeroPhenom’s intro tutorial) thanks to the bass charts helping me get a feel for the Expert difficulty. All that aside, my YouTube channel (EchecCritiqueGH) pretty much sums up how far I’ve come in the last few years and where I am now.

In a nutshell, it’s a fun rhythm game where you pretend to play instruments, enjoy the music, and get your mind going. Sometimes, though, getting that one little FC (full combo) can be quite a chore.

2. Team Fortress 2

I was first introduced to Steam on August 10, 2012 (about 2 years after the Mac version was released). I learned my way around the free-to-play games Team Fortress 2 and Realm of the Mad God. Surprisingly, Team Fortress 2 was the one that really appealed to me (even though I’m not usually a fan of first-person shooters). I have been free-to-play since day one, but that doesn’t bother me in the slightest; being F2P doesn’t mean as much in TF2 as it does in games like AdventureQuest and Runescape. At any rate, what draws me to the game is the cartoonish art style, the humorous character dialogue, and especially one server in particular: Randomizer Mann vs. Machine. Randomizer is so much fun on its own (because you never know what you’re gonna get) and something about MvM makes me too hooked on it to even care about PvP. Unfortunately, as fun as TF2 is, it sure has been taking a toll on my keyboard as of late; the computer sometimes has difficulty registering my inputs on the middle keys (A, S, and D in particular) and the W key.

1. Fire Emblem: Awakening

I already talked a bit about my experience with this game on one of my prior Top Three Thursdays; long story short, this is the first Fire Emblem game I’ve ever played, I’ve put a lot of time into it (300 hours at least), and it’s responsible for my profile icon. I really do like RPGs (which is what keeps me following the Pokémon games) and strategy games (thank Final Fantasy Tactics A2 for that); thus, I can agree that Fire Emblem: Awakening is an amazing game, especially for a portable title. The most notable mechanic of the game is the ability of units to bond with one another (over 500 different relationships available!), marry, and even be visited by children of the future. It’s one heck of an experience, I tell you.

Feedback is always appreciated!

