Spontaneous Saturday 8/2: Codecademy

Codecademy is a website of which the main purpose is to teach visitors the ins and outs of web development. I was directed to this website via a post on Reddit that my brother showed me. Since the post said something about HTML and CSS tutorials, I decided to check them out. I was taken step by step through a series of interactive tutorials that were relatively easy to follow (especially for me, as I had prior programming experience with Java and C++). I must also add that the website format is really nice.

You have a tutorial on the left side, space in the middle for coding, and a preview of what the code does on the right side that automatically updates as you type. There are step-by-step instructions below the tutorial, so kinesthetic learners like me (those who learn better through activity) can just skip the text and go straight to the action. (There are also hints for those who need them.) It also helps, while doing these tutorials, to keep track of the code you learn as you go (I do this using Google Spreadsheet) so that you have a handy resource in case memory does not serve.

Fortunately, HTML and CSS lessons are not all that the website has to offer. There are 6 web development languages to choose from: HTML/CSS (bundled into one lesson set), Javascript, jQuery, PHP, Python, and Ruby. On writing this article, I have completed the HTML/CSS, Javascript, and jQuery lessons and am halfway through the PHP lessons. In addition to language lessons, there are lessons on web developer skills, 30-minute coding projects, and API (application programming interface) tutorials (of which there are 29…which leaves a lot of room for exploration). There’s so much to explore, I’ve only scratched the tip of the iceberg.

Overall rating: 9/10. This website is a very helpful resource for learning about how websites are made. Even though I’ve yet seen so little of it, I can say that it has definitely been worth my time.

Feedback is always appreciated!

